Weekly Wrap Up 9-15 Apr

This week I am really happy with my reading, I read quite a bit and for the most part enjoyed everything that I read (with one exception that you will see). I finally finished the review book that I received through Netgalley, I had been trying to push through this book for over a month. I am quite disappointed that I didn’t enjoy the first book that I reviewed through this site but I always give my honest opinion in reviews and I wasn’t going to let anything influence me. I have also found a new graphic novel series that I am loving and will be continuing within the next few weeks. And I am also really enjoying the book that I am currently reading so I am pretty happy at the moment. So without further ado lets get into the books that I read this week;

What I Read This Week

x29351Hy-NbhGTL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_51DkWcnhI2L._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

Scales of Empire by Kylie Chan

I finally finished this book! I received it for review from Netgalley and it took me just over a month to read. Unfortunately I really did not enjoy this book and gave it a one star, and I honestly thought about putting it down multiple times but since it was my first book that I am reading for review from Netgalley I stuck it out. There were a lot of things that I really didn’t like about this book, we were never really introduced to any characters, all of the characters seemed to have almost the exact same personality and there were way too many of them as well, and the plot seemed quite confused and had way too much going on and seemed to skim over most things. I could honestly talk about how much I didn’t like this book all day so if you guys are interested I have a full review up here.

Lumberjanes, Volume 2: Friendship to the Max by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, and Shannon Watters

I gave this graphic novel five out of five stars and I am thoroughly enjoying this series. It is just so fun and exciting to read and so different from a lot of the other books and graphic novels that I have read because of how crazy and nonsensical it can be at times and that really is my favourite aspect of it.

Lumberjanes, Volume 3: A Terrible Plan by Noelle Stevenson, Shannon Watters, and Carolyn Nowak

I gave this graphic novel four out of five stars. The only reason for the dip in rating for this volume is just because of a few things, the art style was different which I didn’t really enjoy but I think that it goes back to the old art style again in the next volume. This volume had the least interesting plot so far, it was still good but not as good as the others.

What I Am Currently Reading

81vdKpA+DPL

Artemis by Andy Weir

I am 200 pages into this book and I am absolutely loving it!! Jazz is such a fun and interesting character, her intelligence really shows through in everything that she does and I really enjoy watching all of her plans come together. The setting in space is also amazing! I absolutely love the idea of this book being set on the moon and all of the issues that comes with it, the scientific aspects are also extremely interesting and makes it seem so much more realistic which I really enjoy. I only have another 100 pages left so I might actually finish it today but we will have to see and I cannot wait to see how it will end.

Thank you for reading

Leave a comment